Jimmy Smith - Standards (1959)

1/24/2009 08:26:00 PM / Comments (1) / by Punda Jazz@u

All of the songs are familiar standards along the lines of “Bye Bye Blackbird,” “I’m Just a Lucky So and So,” “September Song,” “Mood Indigo” and “It Might As Well Be Spring,” and seven of the tracks are previously unreleased. Throughout the album, the trio is relaxed and laidback, resulting in a warm, inviting collection of standards. It’s among Smith’s mellowest recordings, and it’s all the better for it. - by Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AMG -

1. Little Girl Blue (Richard Rodgers/Lorenz Hart) 5:23
2. Bye Bye Blackbird (Ray Henderson/Mort Dixon) 6:11
3. I’m Just a Lucky So and So (Duke Ellington/Mack David) 5:42
4. Ruby (Heinz Roemheld/Mitchell Parish) 3:42
5. September Song (Kurt Weill/Maxwell Anderson) 5:14
6. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was (Richard Rodgers/Lorenz Hart) 6:26
7. Memories of You (Eubie Blake/Andy Razaf) 5:51
8. But Beautiful (James Van Heusen/Johnny Burke) 3:57
9. Mood Indigo (Barney Bigard/Duke Ellington/Irving Mills) 5:36
10. While We’re Young (William Engvick/Morty Palitz/Alec Wilder) 4:54
11. It Might as Well be Spring (Richard Rodgers/Oscar Hammerstein) 9:06
12. The Last Dance (Jimmy Smith) 4:54

1 Links and Comments:

ria @ January 24, 2009 at 8:31 PM